first_imgKumar Sangakkara (73) Angelo Mathews (71) helped Sri Lanka post an impressive 287-run target for India in the third ODI of the five-match series in Colombo.Scorecard: Mathews stitched an unbeaten 104 runs partnership with Jeevan Mendis to take Sri Lanka to 286/5 in 50 overs. Mendis remained unbeaten on 45 off 40 balls, hammering three fours and a six.Sri Lanka suffered a big blow when Indian pacer Ashok Dinda dismissed Kumar Sangakkara. Sangakkara scored a 73rd ODI fifty to lift the Sri Lankan innings after the early collapse. The former skipper smashed five boundaries in his 95 balls stay at the crease.Rahul Sharma broke the century stand between Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene to give India a crucial breakthrough.After losing three quick wickets, Sangakkara and Jayawardene added 121 runs partnership to revive Sri Lanka. Sharma removed the Sri Lankan skipper to end the partnership.Zaheer Khan struck in his successive overs to remove Tillakaratne Dilshan and Upul Tharanga to give Sri Lanka early blows.In the next over, Irfan Pathan dismissed Dinesh Chandimal to leave the hosts tottering at 20/3 in 5.3 overs.Earlier, Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene has won the toss and elected to bat against India on Saturday.India have made two changes, bringing in leg-spinner Rahul Sharma, who had recently tested positive for recreational drugs, and Ashok Dinda in place of Pragyan Ojha and Umesh Yadav.For Sri Lanka, Jeevan Mendis comes in place of Lahiru Thirimanne.The five-match ODI series is currently locked at 1-1.Teams: Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga.advertisementIndia: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain), Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda.last_img

Leave a Reply